Everything You Need To Know About Top Level Domain

A top-level domain is the final section of the domain name. Its other name is also domain suffixes. Besides, it is the segment that follows the final “dot” in your URL.

So, top-level domains (TLD) have two different groups:

  • country specific top-level domain
  • generic top-level domain

Moreover, TLD helps to classify certain website elements. For instance, the country of origin, the type of business, whether it is a government, school website, etc.

Top Level Domain And DNS

In old times, dealing and forming IP addresses was not an efficient or feasible process. Because you had to know the exact IP address of the computer or any desired website. Thus, to simplify this complex system, computer experts created the Domain Name System (DNS). TLD is the top level in this hierarchical DNS.

Country-Code Top-Level Domain

Although the Internet was crafted for American governmental use, it quickly got open to the public. Also, it became available for the rest of the world. Besides, many of these top-level domains were restricted to the American military or govt. So, country code top-level domains (ccTLDs) to help discern one country from another. For example:

  • .pk– Pakistan 
  • .uk – Great Britain
  • .au – Australia
  • .ca – Canada
  • .mx – Mexico

Generic Top-Level Domains

Moreover, with time, more top-level domains keep on adding to the original list. Currently, there are 21 generic Also, TLDs at the peak of the domain name system hierarchy. These 21 generic TLDs have four categories:

Generic – Domains for general purposes:

  • .com
  • .info
  • .net
  • .org
WhatsApp chat